The Blogosphere…

As I laid in my bed last night, I was thinking about my entire blog history.  It has sort of morphed into a religious, right-wing, political commentary.  I am not sure that is where I want it to go; or intended it should go when I began this journey.  The current electoral cycle has been fascinating for me, a woman of deep faith, in an area of almost no faithful.  Less than 6% of the population of Washington State is “churched.”  What that means, as it was explained to me, is that 94% of the population has never attended Church – ever.  Which is an amazing thing, when you consider all the people a person runs into in our daily lives…and 96% of them have no faith life at all.  There is an immense amount of tributary discussion material about that one idea.  The evangelization territory up here is very fertile! It also puts a lot of pressure on those puny 6% of us who do attend Church.  We may be the only “Jesus” people ever experience.  That can be the checker at the grocery store, the guy who gives my son his “high and tights” at the barber shop, the kid who takes my order at McDonald’s on one of our rushed nights out of the house.  Then, there’s the guy cutting me off when the lanes switch from two to one…how do I react? As one of the 6% or the 94%?

So do I blog about all of this political stuff, or do I post recipes, and photos of the gorgeous fall colors in the Pacific Northwest?  What service do I perform for others by blogging?  Am I reaching a large audience?  That’s laughable! My largest readership was on October 26th. We get stats that tell us our readership and “pings” where people look in on the blog and it is all by date – that particularly large number (all 26 of them) was a blog  on Holy Silence…hmmmmm, is there a lesson here??  My thoughts are perhaps I should practice some Holy Silence myself, and contemplate where I want this blog to go. Blogging is sort of like chatting with you, without the benefits of a nice cup of tea and some time spent smiling at each other! It is almost like a completely electronic relationship; and is that a good thing? I am not sure….right now, it’s pretty one-sided (as in I am the one doing all the chatting and typing) and that can be fairly unhealthy! Ha-Ha!

I have so much to share on my experience moving up here. Adjusting to life without the greater faith community I had enjoyed for 20+ years has been particularly painful.  No family nearby. And being a Byzantine Catholic in a place of few Byzantines has also taken a toll on our family.  So I blog.  I guess I am struggling with the noise factor.  Is blogging just so much noise, or do I serve my community at large?  Am I preaching to the choir or am I giving others perspective they perhaps would not have?  Simple, humble is my goal. Theosis is a life-long process, and I am still very much a work in progress.

I found this quote and it made me stop and really think:

“You cannot be too gentle, too kind. Shun even to appear harsh in your treatment of each other. Joy, radiant joy, streams from the face of him who gives and kindles joy in the heart of him who receives. All condemnation is from the devil. Never condemn each other. We condemn others only because we shun knowing ourselves. When we gaze at our own failings, we see such a swamp that nothing in another can equal it. That is why we turn away, and make much of the faults of others. Instead of condemning others, strive to reach inner peace. Keep silent, refrain from judgement. This will raise you above the deadly arrows of slander, insult and outrage and will shield your glowing hearts against all evil.”

—St Seraphim of Sarov

So, blogosphere, where do you fit into my life?  Striving for inner peace is my goal.  Share with me your thoughts; give me feedback.  Share this blog with others and let them give me feedback.  Condemnation is from the devil…help, me, Lord, to raise myself above the fray and just radiate joy. And, Lord, help me find peace. Amen.

Perhaps more Holy Silence is the way to go; contemplation versus expression.  I will contemplate and get back to you.


Leave a Reply

