“One is never afraid of the unknown…”

“Whoever clings to me I will deliver; whoever knows my name I will set on high. All who call upon me I will answer; I will be with them in distress; I will deliver them and give them honor. With length of days, I will satisfy them and show them my saving power. ”       Psalm 91: 14-16

I have enjoyed my Lenten journey this year so very much. I have had my eyes opened to a deeper understanding of the Scriptures, and I have fallen in love with the Psalms. They are a wealth of promises from God. And each day it seems I find another verse that comforts me, or lifts me up. There is richness in the Word of God; it can become your daily rock or your anchor in this crazy world.

We are making so many changes in our lives over the next few months. Momentous changes. And I am sort of mourning what we are and what we have now. Because I know I won’t get “this” back again. Our family dynamics are going to drastically change. We will be packing up and relocating. We will be possibly losing and gaining family members within months of each other. Life is just not going to be like it is. And that makes me sort of sad.

On the other hand, it is the perfect time of year for changes. This is Good Friday. Without Christ offering Himself for our sins on the Cross, we would never change. We would never receive those Graces He promised us. We would never have need for true repentance and forgiveness from God. He changed; I will continue to grow and change. In the Eastern Catholic and Orthodox world we have a term for that. It is called, “Theosis.” “Theosis is the understanding that human beings can have real union with God, and so become like God to such a degree that we participate in the divine nature.” Psalm 82:6 tells us: “I declare, Gods though you be, offspring of the Most High all of you…” Other translations say: “You are Gods and all of you are children of the Most High.” It varies, but basically it tells us that we have much metanoia to go through in order to have real union with God, sharing in the divine nature. Metanoia is defined as “a change of heart, especially a spiritual one.” And that is change I truly desire. And as I continue on this Lenten journey, I am also eyeing my personal journey. And that of our family. So much is just waiting for that final piece to fit into place, and mounds of change are coming our way.

So today, as we follow our Lord along His way, keep in mind that each slap, each step,  each fall, was for the “many.” There are some who reject His teachings and who cling to the the shiny things of this world. For them we should all pray. And so I direct my steps towards my own Calvary, my personal metanoia, and the changes coming my way. And I pray for everyone as we enter fully into these last, Holy Days of Great Lent.

May The Lord bless you.

Leave a Reply

