“…you don’t like reading?”

Dont like readingI am a reader.  I am an avid reader.  My local library loves me!  I am constantly online, looking through reading lists, checking on my favorite authors, making lists of books to get my library to order for me, and reading.  Ha-Ha! I read – a lot. I went to the library on Friday and picked up 7 books waiting for me. I have already read 4 of them and it is only Wednesday.  There are more books waiting for me at the library!  It has become our Saturday morning errand – dropping books off and picking books up, at the local library.  Last Friday I actually had the car, so I was able to go to the library a day early; it totally messed up our Saturday! Ha-Ha!

EverybookIreadMy husband and I are becoming such old fuddy-duddies that we will go to bed NO LATER than 9:00pm, so we can lay in bed and read until at least 10:00pm every night.  And I mean EVERY night!  We hate being out late because we miss reading time.  And on rainy or snowy weekends, we cuddle up with our blankets on the couch or recliner and read.  We have chosen to watch less TV and read more.  Our youngest son, aged 15, thinks we’re a little nuts. He stays up longer than us, but comes into our room, chatting away about various things until he finally settles into bed himself.  It has become such a part of our lives, and helped our lives to be more quiet and still, that I have not felt like posting on my blog.  I would rather be reading.

LibrarybiggerthanAnd so, for now, I will blog when the mood strikes me.  It seems to me that so much of what I share somehow strikes an angry cord in people (not sure why they bother reading my blog if I do that to them) and I really don’t have all that much of an audience, so I think I will lay aside this blog for a bit.  Perhaps when I get back into it, I will have something important or worthwhile to share.

TomorrowIn the meantime, I will work on keeping our plants alive this summer and eating some home-grown fruits and vegetables, and I will work on my “goodreads” list, my library list and I am also investigating e-readers.  Trust me, as a die-hard book lover, that is saying something.  But I realize how much easier my library trips would be if I could do it all online.  Then we might just have to re-arrange our Saturday mornings!

Blessings, all. Happy Summer!

EagleRivertrail

 

9 thoughts on ““…you don’t like reading?”

  1. I love goodreads and it’s a great place to start! Their site allows you to enter a genre and they’ll list books to try. I’m all over the place as far as genre goes. I’ve discovered some YA literature that’s a nice break – the Lunar Chronicals by Marissa Meyer (fairy tales in a post-apocalyptic world) and the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, and the Virals by Kathy Reichs (author of the “Bones” books). I’m a die-hard Thea Harrison and Illna Andrews fan and just discovered the House of Night series by PC Cast and daughter, Kristin Cast. I love Patricia Briggs and Jennifer Estep, Nalini Singh, and Laurell K. Hamilton – the last few are adult paranormal and can get steamy in parts, so beware! I read lots of historical fiction, as well. I also read all the Divergent books (Veronica Roth), the Percy Jackson books by Rick Riordan. There are lots of classics on my shelves and in boxes. If a story grabs me, I read it! Seriously look at the Book Addict’s Guide or Paranormal Books, or Goodreads. Lots of great sites that can help you find your genre. Happy Reading!!

  2. Happy to hear you are enjoying the books!! My biggest think is trying to get in more rosary making time or jewerly or sewing, which ever one takes my fancy that day!! But I drive Paul and the kids nuts by listening and sometimes watching all my old favorites shows on amazon or netflixs like Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Lark Rise to Candleford and so on!!! They come in and say Mom youv’e watched those shows a thousand times why don’t you watch something else and I just saying it’s like curling up with my farorite books and reading them over and over again but this way I get to make something I like at the sametime!!!! LOL

    • I love the rosary you made for me. It is precious to me and I keep it by me always. Some wonderful memories from when our kiddos were all little. I giggle at most of them!! Thanks for being a part of my life that, when I look back on it, I smile. Good times; good friends. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

